Challenge, ACCEPTED! (Adventures in The Historical Sew Fortnightly)

I always seem to get myself into quandaries, regarding my time management. There was that one time that I enlisted myself as a VLLP 1912 test sewer, and spent more time cursing at a slip than I spent sewing it. And the time I tried to do the Pin Up Sew Along, and blew a gasket when I realized that I had sewn a bra together inside out, upside down, and backwards. And this was always worked in around class and theater. Those theater goblins out there know what I mean when I say that the fact that I even had time to eat was an accomplishment, let alone take on outside sewing projects.

Now that I’m on a hiatus from theater (the shop has been delivered into the hands of a talented, driven young lady, who I have no doubt will outside my paltry attempts at being a wardrobe mistress), I find myself with a bit of free time, in between my classes and my store and my search for a part time job.

Enter the discovery of the HSF Challenges! Each fortnight, a new challenge is presented, and is designed to incorporate research into historic fashions, textiles, techniques etc. And I though to myself: “YES!!!! THIS!!!!”

Gone will be the days of me cursing at my sewing projects, and of me completely FUBAR ing projects. At last I have a sewing challenge that speaks to me!

Of course, I was a challenge.he behind schedule, and might not have enough time to do the second challenge… but there’s an entire year worth of sewing projects ahead of me, that will be just for me, and I relish that thought.

Maybe not the sleepless.nights that I am sure will accompany these projects… but the rebuilding of my wardrobe is something I look forward to.

 

In other news, “Strawberries & Champagne” items are almost all done, and are currently on schedule for their release in my store at the end of next week!!! Success all around! 🙂

Leave a Reply

