Some Girls Buy Clothes, I Buy Cloths

Most people go on shopping sprees and they buy clothing. And jewelry. And shoes. And electronic gadgets.

Not me.

When I go on shopping sprees, I buy fabric, and beads, and embroidery thread. I mean, why shell out hundreds of dollars on clothes made in a sweat shop in china, when I can make it at home, and fill the sleepless nights?

So today, I dragged my mother to Joann Fabrics. It’s no G Street Fabrics, but it fills all my basic requirements, and I get some banging discounts, because I moonlight at a school as a costume designer… Or am I moonlighting as a fashion designer/anthropology student, while working as a costume designer? I’ll let you work that one out.

20130322-213511.jpg
I figured after putting my costume shop back together, with massive help from the show director and a stage craft student, I deserved some congratulatory shopping.

So anyway, Joann Fabrics.

In one hour, I came up with a 20 yard bolt of muslin, so I can start sewing my projects, and some decent sky blue crepe for the finished product if the robe.

And some bright red silk to finish out a tap pants order.

And odds and ends to get started on my inventory for First Friday (which is approaching like a rider of the apocalypse…)

And a HOARDE of stone beads and pretty sparkly crystal beads, just because I have the tendencies of a magpie and am attracted to shiny objects.

Oh, and some embroidery floss because I always wanted to teach myself to embroider.

And I only spent a dime over 100$, because I’m aces with sale shopping!!! Definitely a great way to round out a VERY busy day.

I think I’m going to sit in front of my stash and drink some cocoa now, I’m beat!!!

Leave a Reply

