Curb the Enthusiasm

When you run a small company, with a work force of one, you wear a lot of hats and have a very small paycheck at the end of the day. You work 8 days a week, and 26 hours a day (all possible with copious amounts of caffeine). Now, when that pay check DOES roll around into your bank account, you should feel happy. You should feel proud. You should feel like you own the world because you EARNED that money.

Today I had those feelings of glee when I made a relatively large (for me) sale in my store. There was mulah in my bank! My first thought- “I’m going out to dinner tomorrow night”, followed by “I’m going to drink Starbucks coffees for a MONTH”, and, finally, the sobering thought of “Well, first I need to pick up the materials, and I don’t have the right thread, so I’ll have to get that, and I’m almost out of X,Y and Z (you fill in the blanks, but basically, supplies that I need)”

When you wear many hats and work many hours in your job, you are lord and master (ROCK ON!) but you are also responsible for… well, being financially responsible. In reality, all of the money from the sale is just going to be cycled right back into the company.

But tonight, I’m going to dream of silk sheets, French champagne and decadent clothing – none of which are in my immediate future. But dreams are free. And don’t impact my bank account!

2 thoughts on “Curb the Enthusiasm

Leave a Reply

